Books that Pair with Reading Snacks!

From EpicReads: “Let us set the scene: You just got to book club. You have your book with you, obviously. That’s the most important thing. But what’s the second most important thing, the thing you’re looking for the second you walk through the door?

Book club snacks. That’s right.

We don’t know about you, but we love when books make us hungry. That’s a sign of good writing, and frankly, reading while snacking is one of our favorite pastimes!

Without further ado, check out some books that pair perfectly with book club snacks!”

My Fine Fellow by Jennieke Cohen
It
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet by Laekan Zea Kemp
Hot Dog Girl by Jennifer Dugan
The Way You Make Me Feel by Maurene Goo
Loveboat Reunion by Abigail Hing Wen
With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo
A Pho Love Story by Loan Le
Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch
Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

For full book descriptions, check out the list here.

 

Read-Alikes: HBO’s “Euphoria”

Books like Euphoria: Banner

From EpicReads:

“If you’re someone who’s fallen in love with HBO’s Euphoria, you should know that you’re not alone. This Zendaya-led series has been a powerhouse in storytelling, acting, costume, and pretty much every other facet. It’s a messy teenage tale of first love, gender identity, social media, and abuse in all its aspects, and it’s impossible not to fall in love with these incredibly crafted characters. But what are you supposed to do once you’ve finished?

Well, we’re here to help!

These books explore the same ideas as Euphoria and will tug on your heartstrings just the same. Expect well-crafted representation, dramatic school dances, and betrayals sure to crush your emotions to pieces. We know, we know, you can’t wait. So scroll down and let’s get reading!”

White Smoke by Tiffany D. Jackson
Kings, Queens, and In-Betweens by Tanya Boteju
Heroine by Mindy McGinnis
The Revolution of Birdie Randolph by Brandy Colbert
Let
Hello Girls by Brittany Cavallaro & Emily Henry
More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver
Full Disclosure by Camryn Garrett
You Asked for Perfect by Laura Silverman
The Meaning of Birds by Jaye Robin Brown
Perfect by Ellen Hopkins
The Strange Fascinations of Noah Hypnotik by David Arnold

 

2022 ALA Youth Media Awards

On Monday, January 24, the American Library Association (ALA) announced the top books, digital media, video and audio books for children and young adults – including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz awards – at its LibLearnX: The Library Learning Experience, taking place virtually from Chicago.

A list of the 2022 award winners and honor selections from the Young Adult category follows:

A Snake Falls to Earth by Darcie Little Badger
Home is Not A Country by Safia Elhillo
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People by Kekla Magoon
Me (Moth) by Amber McBride
Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley
Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas
Last Night at the Telegraph Club by Malinda Lo
Starfish by Lisa Fipps
Words in My Hands by Asphyxia
A Face for Picasso: Coming of Age with Crouzon Syndrome by Ariel Henley
When You Look Like Us written by Pamela N. Harris and narrated by Preston Butler III
How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe by Raquel Vasquez Gilliland
Fifteen Hundred Miles from the Sun," written by Jonny Garza Villa
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet by Laekan Zea Kemp
Where I Belong by Marcia Argueta Mickelson
Fallout: Spies, Superbombs, and the Ultimate Cold War Showdown by Steve Sheinkin
The Darkness Outside Us by Eliot Schrefer
Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé
Vampires, Hearts & Other Dead Things by Margie Fuston
What Beauty There Is by Cory Anderson
Ambushed!: The Assassination Plot Against President Garfield by Gail Jarrow
Black Birds in the Sky: The Story and Legacy of the 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre by Brandy Colbert
From a Whisper to a Rallying Cry: The Killing of Vincent Chin and the Trial that Galvanized the Asian American Movement by Paula Yoo
In the Shadow of the Fallen Towers: The Seconds, Minutes, Hours, Days, Weeks, Months and Years after the 9/11 Attacks written and illustrated by Don Brown
The Woman All Spies Fear: Code Breaker Elizebeth Smith Friedman and Her Hidden Life by Amy Butler Greenfield
Apple (Skin to the Core) by Eric Gansworth [Onondaga]
Elatsoe by Darcie Little Badger [Lipan Apache Tribe]
Hunting by Stars by Cherie Dimaline [Métis Nation of Ontario]
Notable Native People: 50 Indigenous Leaders, Dreamers, and Changemakers from Past and Present by Adrienne Keene [Cherokee Nation]
Soldiers Unknown by Chag Lowry [Yurok, Maidu and Achumawi]
We Are Not Free written by Traci Chee
The City Beautiful by Aden Polydoros
The Last Words We Said by Leah Scheier
Whistle: A New Gotham City Hero by E. Lockhart
The Summer of Lost Letters by Hannah Reynolds

Newbery Honor Book: A Snake Falls to Earth, written by Darcie Little Badger

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award: Me (Moth), written by Amber McBride

  • Coretta Scott King Author Honor Books: Home Is Not a Country, written by Safia Elhillo; Revolution in Our Time, written by Kekla Magoon; The People Remember, written by Ibi Zoboi

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults: Firekeeper’s Daughter, written by Angeline Boulley

  • Printz Honor Books: Concrete Rose, written by Angie Thomas; Last Night at the Telegraph Club, written by Malinda Lo; Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People, written by Kekla Magoon; Starfish, written by Lisa Fipps

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience: Words in My Hands, written and illustrated by Asphyxia

  • Schneider Family Honor Book: A Face for Picasso: Coming of Age with Crouzon Syndrome, written by Ariel Henley

Odyssey Award for the best audiobooks produced for young adults: When You Look Like Us, written by Pamela N. Harris and narrated by Preston Butler III

  • Odyssey Honor Audiobook: Perfectly Parvin, written by Olivia Abtahi and narrated by Mitra Jouhari

Pura Belpré Awards honoring Latinx writers and illustrators whose young adult books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience: How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe, written by Raquel Vasquez Gilliland

  • Belpré Young Adult Author Honor Books: Fifteen Hundred Miles from the Sun, written by Jonny Garza Villa; Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet, written by Laekan Zea Kemp; Where I Belong, written by Marcia Argueta Mickelson

Robert F. Sibert Honor Book: Fallout: Spies, Superbombs, and the Ultimate Cold War Showdown, written by Steve Sheinkin

Stonewall Book Award given annually to English-language young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience: Last Night at the Telegraph Club, written by Malinda Lo

  • Stonewall Honor Book: The Darkness Outside Us, written by Eliot Schrefer

William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens: Firekeeper’s Daughter, written by Angeline Boulley

  • Morris Award Finalists: Ace of Spades, written by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé; Vampires, Hearts & Other Dead Things, written by Margie Fuston; Me (Moth), written by Amber McBride;  What Beauty There Is, written by Cory Anderson

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults: Ambushed!: The Assassination Plot Against President Garfield, written by Gail Jarrow

  • Finalists: Black Birds in the Sky: The Story and Legacy of the 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre, written by Brandy Colbert; From a Whisper to a Rallying Cry: The Killing of Vincent Chin and the Trial that Galvanized the Asian American Movement, written by Paula Yoo; In the Shadow of the Fallen Towers: The Seconds, Minutes, Hours, Days, Weeks, Months and Years after the 9/11 Attacks, written and illustrated by Don Brown; The Woman All Spies Fear: Code Breaker Elizebeth Smith Friedman and Her Hidden Life, written by Amy Butler Greenfield

American Indian Youth Literature Awards, which were established to identify and honor the very best writing and illustrations by and about American Indians and Alaska Natives: Apple (Skin to the Core), written by Eric Gansworth [Onondaga]

  • Honor Books: Elatsoe, by Darcie Little Badger [Lipan Apache Tribe]; Firekeeper’s Daughter, by Angeline Boulley [Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians]; Hunting by Stars, by Cherie Dimaline [Métis Nation of Ontario]; Notable Native People: 50 Indigenous Leaders, Dreamers, and Changemakers from Past and Present, by Adrienne Keene [Cherokee Nation]; Soldiers Unknown, by Chag Lowry [Yurok, Maidu and Achumawi]

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature, which promotes Asian/Pacific American culture and heritage and is awarded based on literary and artistic merit: Last Night at the Telegraph Club, written by Malinda Lo

  • Youth Literature honor title: We Are Not Free, written by Traci Chee

The Sydney Taylor Book Award, presented annually to outstanding books for children and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience: The City Beautiful, by Aden Polydoros 

  • Young Adult honors: The Last Words We Said, by Leah Scheier; Whistle: A New Gotham City Hero, by E. Lockhart, illustrated by Manuel Preitano; and The Summer of Lost Letters, by Hannah Reynolds

What to Read Next: TIME Magazine’s 100 Best YA Books of All Time

TIME Magazine recently published a list of 100 books they consider to be the best young adult books of all time, spanning from the 1800s to recent years. How many have you read?

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
Lord of the Flies by William Golding
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg
A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin
I
Are You There God? It
A Hero Ain’t Nothin’ but a Sandwich by Alice Childress
Forever by Judy Blume
Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt
Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor
A Swiftly Tilting Planet by Madeleine L
The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
Homecoming by Cynthia Voigt
The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros
Weetzie Bat by Francesca Lia Block
The Giver by Lois Lowry
Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
Holes by Louis Sachar
If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson
Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison
Monster by Walter Dean Myers
Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli
The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot
A Step from Heaven by An Na
Rainbow Boys by Alex Sanchez
The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares
Before We Were Free by Julia Alvarez
Feed by M.T. Anderson
Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff
Code Talker by Joseph Bruchac
Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
Copper Sun by Sharon Draper
Tyrell by Coe Booth
Graceling by Kristin Cashore
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor
Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor
Legend by Marie Lu
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
Every Day by David Levithan
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
If You Could Be Mine by Sara Farizan
March: Book One by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, illustrated by Nate Powell
Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson
I
Noggin by John Corey Whaley
The Crossover by Kwame Alexander
To All the Boys I
An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
Dumplin
Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
March: Book Two by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, illustrated by Nate Powell
More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
Scythe by Neal Shusterman
The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson
When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore
Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson
American Street by Ibi Zoboi
Dear Martin by Nic Stone
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by Erika L. Sánchez
Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds
The 57 Bus by Dashka Slater
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline
We Are Okay by Nina LaCour
When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon
A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi
Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram
The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R. Pan
The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo
Frankly in Love by David Yoon
Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me by Mariko Tamaki, illustrated by Rosemary Valero-O’Connell
Like a Love Story by Abdi Nazemian
Pet by Akwaeke Emezi
With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo
The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta
Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender
Stamped by Jason Reynolds and Ibram X. Kendi
The Henna Wars by Adiba Jaigirdar
We Are Not Free by Traci Chee
You Should See Me In a Crown by Leah Johnson
Firekeeper

Curious about how these particular books were selected? Check out this article detailing the process.

2021 ALA Youth Media Awards

Logo of ALA Youth Media Awards

2021 ALA YMA Young Adult Award and Honor Books

Legendborn, written by Tracy Deonn
All the Days Past, All the Days to Come by Mildred D. Taylor
Lifting as We Climb: Black Women
Everything Sad is Untrue (a true story), written by Daniel Nayeri
Apple: Skin to the Core, written by Eric Gansworth
Dragon Hoops, created by Gene Luen Yang
Every Body Looking, written by Candice Iloh
We Are Not Free, written by Traci Chee
This is My Brain in Love, written by I. W. Gregario
Darius the Great Deserves Better, written by Adib Khorram
Felix Ever After, written by Kacen Callender
You Should See Me in a Crown, written by Leah Johnson
Kent State, written by Deborah Wiles
Clap When You Land, written by Elizabeth Acevedo
Stamped: Racism, Antiracism, and You, written by Jason Reynolds and Ibram X. Kendi
If These Wings Could Fly, written by Kyrie McCauley
Black Girl Unlimited: The Remarkable Story of a Teenage Wizard, written by Echo Brown
The Black Kids, written by Christina Hammonds Reed
It Sounded Better in My Head, written by Nina Kenwood
Woven in Moonlight, written by Isabel Ibañez
The Rise and Fall of Charles Lindbergh, written by Candace Fleming
All Thirteen: The Incredible Cave Rescue of the Thai Boys
The Cat I Never Named: A True Story of Love, War, and Survival, written by Amra Sabic-El-Rayess
How We Got to the Moon: The People, Technology, and Daring Feats of Science Behind Humanity
You Call This Democracy?: How to Fix Our Democracy and Deliver Power to the People written by Elizabeth Rusch
This Light Between Us, written by Andrew Fukuda
Displacement, written by Kiku Hughes
Dancing at the Pity Party, written and illustrated by Tyler Feder
They Went Left, by Monica Hesse
Furia, by Yamile Saied Méndez
Never Look Back, written by Lilliam Rivera
We Are Not From Here, written by Jenny Torres Sanchez

The American Library Association (ALA) recently announced the 2021 Youth Media Award winners at its annual midwinter conference. These awards, including the prestigious Newbery, Caldecott, and Coretta Scott King Book Awards, encourage original and creative work in the field of children’s and young adult literature and media.

Awards specifically for young adult books include:

Other awards – such as the Pura Belpré Award, the Stonewall Book Award, and more – are awarded to multiple categories of books including young adult titles.

To find out more about each award presented and this year’s award winners, click here!

What to Read Next: The Classics Remixed

Scavenge the Stars by Tara Sim
Night Spinner by Addie Thorley
I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick
Ruinsong by Julia Ember
Jane by April Lindner
The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein by Kiersten White
Not Now, Not Ever by Lily Anderson
Sky Without Stars by Jessica Brody
Once & Future by  A.R. Capetta, Cory McCarthy
Pride by Ibi Zoboi

Scavenge the Stars by Tara Sim (The Count of Monte Cristo)

When Amaya rescues a mysterious stranger from drowning, she fears her rash actions have earned her a longer sentence on the debtor ship where she’s been held captive for years. Instead, the man she saved offers her unimaginable riches and a new identity, setting Amaya on a perilous course through the coastal city-state of Moray, where old-world opulence and desperate gamblers collide.

Amaya wants one thing: revenge against the man who ruined her family and stole the life she once had. But the more entangled she becomes in this game of deception—and as her path intertwines with the son of the man she’s plotting to bring down—the more she uncovers about the truth of her past. And the more she realizes she must trust no one…

Night Spinner by Addie Thorley (The Hunchback of Notre Dame)

Before the massacre at Nariin, Enebish was one of the greatest warriors in the Sky King’s Imperial Army: a rare and dangerous Night Spinner, blessed with the ability to control the threads of darkness. Now, she is known as Enebish the Destroyer―a monster and murderer, banished to a monastery for losing control of her power and annihilating a merchant caravan.

Guilt stricken and scarred, Enebish tries to be grateful for her sanctuary, until her adoptive sister, Imperial Army commander Ghoa, returns from the war front with a tantalizing offer. If Enebish can capture the notorious criminal, Temujin, whose band of rebels has been seizing army supply wagons, not only will her crimes be pardoned, she will be reinstated as a warrior. Enebish eagerly accepts. But as she hunts Temujin across the tundra, she discovers the tides of war have shifted, and the supplies he’s stealing are the only thing keeping thousands of shepherds from starving. Torn between duty and conscience, Enebish must decide whether to put her trust in the charismatic rebel or her beloved sister. No matter who she chooses, an even greater enemy is advancing, ready to bring the empire to its knees. 

I Killed Zoe Spanos by Kit Frick (Rebecca)

When Anna Cicconi arrives to the small Hamptons village of Herron Mills for a summer nanny gig, she has high hopes for a fresh start. What she finds instead is a community on edge after the disappearance of Zoe Spanos, a local girl who has been missing since New Year’s Eve. Anna bears an eerie resemblance to Zoe, and her mere presence in town stirs up still-raw feelings about the unsolved case. As Anna delves deeper into the mystery, stepping further and further into Zoe’s life, she becomes increasingly convinced that she and Zoe are connected–and that she knows what happened to her.

Two months later, Zoe’s body is found in a nearby lake, and Anna is charged with manslaughter. But Anna’s confession is riddled with holes, and Martina Green, teen host of the Missing Zoe podcast, isn’t satisfied. Did Anna really kill Zoe? And if not, can Martina’s podcast uncover the truth?

Ruinsong by Julia Ember (The Phantom of the Opera)

In a world where magic is sung, a powerful mage named Cadence has been forced to torture her country’s disgraced nobility at her ruthless queen’s bidding. But when she is reunited with her childhood friend, a noblewoman with ties to the underground rebellion, she must finally make a choice: Take a stand to free their country from oppression, or follow in the queen’s footsteps and become a monster herself. 

Jane by April Lindner (Jane Eyre)

Forced to drop out of an esteemed East Coast college after the sudden death of her parents, Jane Moore takes a nanny job at Thornfield Park, the estate of Nico Rathburn, a world-famous rock star on the brink of a huge comeback. Practical and independent, Jane reluctantly becomes entranced by her magnetic and brooding employer and finds herself in the midst of a forbidden romance.

But there’s a mystery at Thornfield, and Jane’s much-envied relationship with Nico is soon tested by an agonizing secret from his past. Torn between her feelings for Nico and his fateful secret, Jane must decide: Does being true to herself mean giving up on true love?

The Dark Descent of Elizabeth Frankenstein by Kiersten White (Frankenstein)

Elizabeth Lavenza hasn’t had a proper meal in weeks. Her thin arms are covered with bruises from her “caregiver,” and she is on the verge of being thrown into the streets . . . until she is brought to the home of Victor Frankenstein, an unsmiling, solitary boy who has everything–except a friend. Victor is her escape from misery. Elizabeth does everything she can to make herself indispensable–and it works. She is taken in by the Frankenstein family and rewarded with a warm bed, delicious food, and dresses of the finest silk. Soon she and Victor are inseparable.

But her new life comes at a price. As the years pass, Elizabeth’s survival depends on managing Victor’s dangerous temper and entertaining his every whim, no matter how depraved. Behind her blue eyes and sweet smile lies the calculating heart of a girl determined to stay alive no matter the cost . . . as the world she knows is consumed by darkness.

Not Now, Not Ever by Lily Anderson (“The Importance of Being Earnest”)

Elliot Gabaroche is very clear on what she isn’t going to do this summer.

1. She isn’t going to stay home in Sacramento, where she’d have to sit through her stepmother’s sixth community theater production of The Importance of Being Earnest.
2. She isn’t going to mock trial camp at UCLA.
3. And she certainly isn’t going to the Air Force summer program on her mother’s base in Colorado Springs. Ellie’s seen three generations of her family go through USAF boot camp up close, and she knows that it’s much less Luke/Yoda/”feel the force,” and much more one hundred push-ups on three days of no sleep. 

What she is going to do is pack up her attitude, her favorite Octavia Butler novels, and her Jordans, and go to summer camp. Specifically, a cutthroat academic-decathlon-like competition for a full scholarship to Rayevich College, the only college with a Science Fiction Literature program. And she’s going to start over as Ever Lawrence, on her own terms, without the shadow of all her family’s expectations. Because why do what’s expected of you when you can fight other genius nerds to the death for a shot at the dream you’re sure your family will consider a complete waste of time?

Sky Without Stars by Jessica Brody (Les Miserables)

When the Last Days came, the planet of Laterre promised hope. But five hundred years later, it’s now a place where an extravagant elite class reigns supreme; where the clouds hide the stars and the poor starve in the streets; where a rebel group, long thought dead, is resurfacing. Whispers of revolution have begun—a revolution that hinges on three unlikely heroes…

Chatine is a street-savvy thief who will do anything to escape the brutal Regime, including spying on Marcellus, the grandson of the most powerful man on the planet.

Marcellus is an officer—and the son of a traitor. Groomed to command by his legendary grandfather, Marcellus begins to doubt the government he’s vowed to serve when he discovers a cryptic message that only one person, a girl named Alouette, can read.

Alouette is living in an underground refuge, where she guards and protects the last surviving library on the planet. But a shocking murder will bring Alouette to the surface for the first time in twelve years…and plunge Laterre into chaos.

Once & Future by  A.R. Capetta, Cory McCarthy (The Once and Future King)

When Ari crash-lands on Old Earth and pulls a magic sword from its ancient resting place, she is revealed to be the newest reincarnation of King Arthur. Then she meets Merlin, who has aged backward over the centuries into a teenager, and together they must break the curse that keeps Arthur coming back. Their quest? Defeat the cruel, oppressive government and bring peace and equality to all humankind.

No pressure.

Pride by Ibi Zoboi (Pride & Prejudice)

Zuri Benitez has pride. Brooklyn pride, family pride, and pride in her Afro-Latino roots. But pride might not be enough to save her rapidly gentrifying neighborhood from becoming unrecognizable.

When the wealthy Darcy family moves in across the street, Zuri wants nothing to do with their two teenage sons, even as her older sister, Janae, starts to fall for the charming Ainsley. She especially can’t stand the judgmental and arrogant Darius. Yet as Zuri and Darius are forced to find common ground, their initial dislike shifts into an unexpected understanding.