Would You Rather: Book Nerd Edition

From EpicReads:

“No two book lovers are the same.

Some prefer hardcover, others prefer paperback. Some refuse to read series until all of the books are released, others relish in participating in each release date as they come. And of course, the debate that could be as old as books themselves (don’t fact-check us for this one though): to dog-ear or to not dog-ear?”

Click the graphic above to see how your preferences stack up against other readers!

Quiz: Escape the Haunted Library

 

A cartoon house against a red background, with tombstones in the foreground. The text reads "Escape the haunted library."

From the Tor/Forge Blog:

“Endless night streams soft and silver through the reading room’s wide window. You are surrounded by volumes and tomes, candle and moonlight, and out that window—so many stars. Inside there are so many spirits. If you do not escape the library, you will join them.

FOREVER.”

Click here to play!

 

Quiz: Choose a K-pop Song, Get a YA Book Rec

From EpicReads:

“Keeping up with the latest K-pop comebacks is very much like trying to keep up with the latest book releases—it’s always happening and it always seems never ending. Which becomes both a blessing and a curse.

In the world of K-pop, there’s always a new song to listen to, a new stage to watch, a new group to stan, and that doesn’t even include wanting to go back in time to listen to old favorites as well. Trying to balance that AND book reading? The book-nerds-who-are-also-K-pop-stans work HARD for the things they love.”

Click the graphic above to get a book recommendation based on your favorite K-pop song!

Books that Pair with Reading Snacks!

From EpicReads: “Let us set the scene: You just got to book club. You have your book with you, obviously. That’s the most important thing. But what’s the second most important thing, the thing you’re looking for the second you walk through the door?

Book club snacks. That’s right.

We don’t know about you, but we love when books make us hungry. That’s a sign of good writing, and frankly, reading while snacking is one of our favorite pastimes!

Without further ado, check out some books that pair perfectly with book club snacks!”

My Fine Fellow by Jennieke Cohen
It
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet by Laekan Zea Kemp
Hot Dog Girl by Jennifer Dugan
The Way You Make Me Feel by Maurene Goo
Loveboat Reunion by Abigail Hing Wen
With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo
A Pho Love Story by Loan Le
Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch
Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram

For full book descriptions, check out the list here.

 

Read-Alikes: HBO’s “Euphoria”

Books like Euphoria: Banner

From EpicReads:

“If you’re someone who’s fallen in love with HBO’s Euphoria, you should know that you’re not alone. This Zendaya-led series has been a powerhouse in storytelling, acting, costume, and pretty much every other facet. It’s a messy teenage tale of first love, gender identity, social media, and abuse in all its aspects, and it’s impossible not to fall in love with these incredibly crafted characters. But what are you supposed to do once you’ve finished?

Well, we’re here to help!

These books explore the same ideas as Euphoria and will tug on your heartstrings just the same. Expect well-crafted representation, dramatic school dances, and betrayals sure to crush your emotions to pieces. We know, we know, you can’t wait. So scroll down and let’s get reading!”

White Smoke by Tiffany D. Jackson
Kings, Queens, and In-Betweens by Tanya Boteju
Heroine by Mindy McGinnis
The Revolution of Birdie Randolph by Brandy Colbert
Let
Hello Girls by Brittany Cavallaro & Emily Henry
More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
I Wish You All the Best by Mason Deaver
Full Disclosure by Camryn Garrett
You Asked for Perfect by Laura Silverman
The Meaning of Birds by Jaye Robin Brown
Perfect by Ellen Hopkins
The Strange Fascinations of Noah Hypnotik by David Arnold

 

2022 ALA Youth Media Awards

On Monday, January 24, the American Library Association (ALA) announced the top books, digital media, video and audio books for children and young adults – including the Caldecott, Coretta Scott King, Newbery and Printz awards – at its LibLearnX: The Library Learning Experience, taking place virtually from Chicago.

A list of the 2022 award winners and honor selections from the Young Adult category follows:

A Snake Falls to Earth by Darcie Little Badger
Home is Not A Country by Safia Elhillo
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People by Kekla Magoon
Me (Moth) by Amber McBride
Firekeeper’s Daughter by Angeline Boulley
Concrete Rose by Angie Thomas
Last Night at the Telegraph Club by Malinda Lo
Starfish by Lisa Fipps
Words in My Hands by Asphyxia
A Face for Picasso: Coming of Age with Crouzon Syndrome by Ariel Henley
When You Look Like Us written by Pamela N. Harris and narrated by Preston Butler III
How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe by Raquel Vasquez Gilliland
Fifteen Hundred Miles from the Sun," written by Jonny Garza Villa
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet by Laekan Zea Kemp
Where I Belong by Marcia Argueta Mickelson
Fallout: Spies, Superbombs, and the Ultimate Cold War Showdown by Steve Sheinkin
The Darkness Outside Us by Eliot Schrefer
Ace of Spades by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé
Vampires, Hearts & Other Dead Things by Margie Fuston
What Beauty There Is by Cory Anderson
Ambushed!: The Assassination Plot Against President Garfield by Gail Jarrow
Black Birds in the Sky: The Story and Legacy of the 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre by Brandy Colbert
From a Whisper to a Rallying Cry: The Killing of Vincent Chin and the Trial that Galvanized the Asian American Movement by Paula Yoo
In the Shadow of the Fallen Towers: The Seconds, Minutes, Hours, Days, Weeks, Months and Years after the 9/11 Attacks written and illustrated by Don Brown
The Woman All Spies Fear: Code Breaker Elizebeth Smith Friedman and Her Hidden Life by Amy Butler Greenfield
Apple (Skin to the Core) by Eric Gansworth [Onondaga]
Elatsoe by Darcie Little Badger [Lipan Apache Tribe]
Hunting by Stars by Cherie Dimaline [Métis Nation of Ontario]
Notable Native People: 50 Indigenous Leaders, Dreamers, and Changemakers from Past and Present by Adrienne Keene [Cherokee Nation]
Soldiers Unknown by Chag Lowry [Yurok, Maidu and Achumawi]
We Are Not Free written by Traci Chee
The City Beautiful by Aden Polydoros
The Last Words We Said by Leah Scheier
Whistle: A New Gotham City Hero by E. Lockhart
The Summer of Lost Letters by Hannah Reynolds

Newbery Honor Book: A Snake Falls to Earth, written by Darcie Little Badger

Coretta Scott King/John Steptoe New Talent Author Award: Me (Moth), written by Amber McBride

  • Coretta Scott King Author Honor Books: Home Is Not a Country, written by Safia Elhillo; Revolution in Our Time, written by Kekla Magoon; The People Remember, written by Ibi Zoboi

Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in literature written for young adults: Firekeeper’s Daughter, written by Angeline Boulley

  • Printz Honor Books: Concrete Rose, written by Angie Thomas; Last Night at the Telegraph Club, written by Malinda Lo; Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People, written by Kekla Magoon; Starfish, written by Lisa Fipps

Schneider Family Book Award for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience: Words in My Hands, written and illustrated by Asphyxia

  • Schneider Family Honor Book: A Face for Picasso: Coming of Age with Crouzon Syndrome, written by Ariel Henley

Odyssey Award for the best audiobooks produced for young adults: When You Look Like Us, written by Pamela N. Harris and narrated by Preston Butler III

  • Odyssey Honor Audiobook: Perfectly Parvin, written by Olivia Abtahi and narrated by Mitra Jouhari

Pura Belpré Awards honoring Latinx writers and illustrators whose young adult books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience: How Moon Fuentez Fell in Love with the Universe, written by Raquel Vasquez Gilliland

  • Belpré Young Adult Author Honor Books: Fifteen Hundred Miles from the Sun, written by Jonny Garza Villa; Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet, written by Laekan Zea Kemp; Where I Belong, written by Marcia Argueta Mickelson

Robert F. Sibert Honor Book: Fallout: Spies, Superbombs, and the Ultimate Cold War Showdown, written by Steve Sheinkin

Stonewall Book Award given annually to English-language young adult books of exceptional merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience: Last Night at the Telegraph Club, written by Malinda Lo

  • Stonewall Honor Book: The Darkness Outside Us, written by Eliot Schrefer

William C. Morris Award for a debut book published by a first-time author writing for teens: Firekeeper’s Daughter, written by Angeline Boulley

  • Morris Award Finalists: Ace of Spades, written by Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé; Vampires, Hearts & Other Dead Things, written by Margie Fuston; Me (Moth), written by Amber McBride;  What Beauty There Is, written by Cory Anderson

YALSA Award for Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults: Ambushed!: The Assassination Plot Against President Garfield, written by Gail Jarrow

  • Finalists: Black Birds in the Sky: The Story and Legacy of the 1921 Tulsa Race Massacre, written by Brandy Colbert; From a Whisper to a Rallying Cry: The Killing of Vincent Chin and the Trial that Galvanized the Asian American Movement, written by Paula Yoo; In the Shadow of the Fallen Towers: The Seconds, Minutes, Hours, Days, Weeks, Months and Years after the 9/11 Attacks, written and illustrated by Don Brown; The Woman All Spies Fear: Code Breaker Elizebeth Smith Friedman and Her Hidden Life, written by Amy Butler Greenfield

American Indian Youth Literature Awards, which were established to identify and honor the very best writing and illustrations by and about American Indians and Alaska Natives: Apple (Skin to the Core), written by Eric Gansworth [Onondaga]

  • Honor Books: Elatsoe, by Darcie Little Badger [Lipan Apache Tribe]; Firekeeper’s Daughter, by Angeline Boulley [Sault Ste. Marie Tribe of Chippewa Indians]; Hunting by Stars, by Cherie Dimaline [Métis Nation of Ontario]; Notable Native People: 50 Indigenous Leaders, Dreamers, and Changemakers from Past and Present, by Adrienne Keene [Cherokee Nation]; Soldiers Unknown, by Chag Lowry [Yurok, Maidu and Achumawi]

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature, which promotes Asian/Pacific American culture and heritage and is awarded based on literary and artistic merit: Last Night at the Telegraph Club, written by Malinda Lo

  • Youth Literature honor title: We Are Not Free, written by Traci Chee

The Sydney Taylor Book Award, presented annually to outstanding books for children and teens that authentically portray the Jewish experience: The City Beautiful, by Aden Polydoros 

  • Young Adult honors: The Last Words We Said, by Leah Scheier; Whistle: A New Gotham City Hero, by E. Lockhart, illustrated by Manuel Preitano; and The Summer of Lost Letters, by Hannah Reynolds

What to Read Next: TIME Magazine’s 100 Best YA Books of All Time

TIME Magazine recently published a list of 100 books they consider to be the best young adult books of all time, spanning from the 1800s to recent years. How many have you read?

Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
The Diary of a Young Girl by Anne Frank
The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger
Lord of the Flies by William Golding
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
From the Mixed-Up Files of Mrs. Basil E. Frankweiler by E.L. Konigsburg
A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula K. Le Guin
I
Are You There God? It
A Hero Ain’t Nothin’ but a Sandwich by Alice Childress
Forever by Judy Blume
Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt
Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor
A Swiftly Tilting Planet by Madeleine L
The Westing Game by Ellen Raskin
Homecoming by Cynthia Voigt
The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros
Weetzie Bat by Francesca Lia Block
The Giver by Lois Lowry
Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
Holes by Louis Sachar
If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson
Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison
Monster by Walter Dean Myers
Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli
The Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot
A Step from Heaven by An Na
Rainbow Boys by Alex Sanchez
The Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants by Ann Brashares
Before We Were Free by Julia Alvarez
Feed by M.T. Anderson
Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
How I Live Now by Meg Rosoff
Code Talker by Joseph Bruchac
Elsewhere by Gabrielle Zevin
The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan
American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
Copper Sun by Sharon Draper
Tyrell by Coe Booth
Graceling by Kristin Cashore
The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi
Akata Witch by Nnedi Okorafor
Daughter of Smoke & Bone by Laini Taylor
Legend by Marie Lu
Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein
Every Day by David Levithan
Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews
The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
If You Could Be Mine by Sara Farizan
March: Book One by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, illustrated by Nate Powell
Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson
I
Noggin by John Corey Whaley
The Crossover by Kwame Alexander
To All the Boys I
An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir
Dumplin
Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
March: Book Two by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin, illustrated by Nate Powell
More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli
Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo
Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys
Scythe by Neal Shusterman
The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
We Are the Ants by Shaun David Hutchinson
When the Moon Was Ours by Anna-Marie McLemore
Allegedly by Tiffany D. Jackson
American Street by Ibi Zoboi
Dear Martin by Nic Stone
I Am Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter by Erika L. Sánchez
Long Way Down by Jason Reynolds
The 57 Bus by Dashka Slater
The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas
The Marrow Thieves by Cherie Dimaline
We Are Okay by Nina LaCour
When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon
A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi
Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
Darius the Great Is Not Okay by Adib Khorram
The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X.R. Pan
The Poet X by Elizabeth Acevedo
Frankly in Love by David Yoon
Laura Dean Keeps Breaking Up With Me by Mariko Tamaki, illustrated by Rosemary Valero-O’Connell
Like a Love Story by Abdi Nazemian
Pet by Akwaeke Emezi
With the Fire on High by Elizabeth Acevedo
The Black Flamingo by Dean Atta
Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender
Stamped by Jason Reynolds and Ibram X. Kendi
The Henna Wars by Adiba Jaigirdar
We Are Not Free by Traci Chee
You Should See Me In a Crown by Leah Johnson
Firekeeper

Curious about how these particular books were selected? Check out this article detailing the process.